AutoMathA 2020

Preliminary website and information

The conference AutoMathA 2022 will survey a wide picture of research in automata theory and related mathematical fields. It will consist of 22 invited lectures which will describe significant progress over the past years, and will be a meeting point for both young and senior researchers to learn and to discuss about automata theory, its connections with mathematics and its applications.

For young researchers the conference will serve as an “Advanced Autumn School of Automata Theory”.

All lectures will have the same length of about 50 minutes. They will serve as surveys on significant research work, not necessarily focusing only on work of the speaker. There will be only informal proceedings (with slides or texts); so the results presented are usually already published (or accepted) elsewhere.

This event is a follow-up to

AutoMathA 2015 in Leipzig:

and of the final conference of the multidisciplinary
European AutoMathA programme in Vienna 2010:

Invited Speakers (to be confirmed)

Boris Adamczewski (Lyon)
Mikołaj Bojańczyk (Warsaw)
Laure Daviaud (London)
Amina Doumane (Lyon)
Nathanaël Fijalkow (Bordeaux)
Paul Gastin (Paris-Saclay)
Mai Gehrke (Nice)
Artur Jeż (Warsaw)
Jarkko Kari (Turku)
Barbara König (Duisburg-Essen)
Anca Muscholl (Bordeaux)
Joël Ouaknine (Saarbrücken)
Prakash Panangaden (Montreal)
Jean-Éric Pin (Paris)
Karin Quaas (Leipzig)
Tatiana Starikovskaya (Paris)
Wolfgang Thomas (Aachen)
Mikhail Volkov (Ekaterinburg)
Marc Zeitoun (Bordeaux)
Georg Zetzsche (Kaiserslautern)

Program Committee

Jorge Almeida (Porto)
Véronique Bruyère (Mons)
Thomas Colcombet (Paris)
Manfred Droste (Leipzig)
Dora Giammarresi (Rome)
Juhani Karhumäki (Turku)
Markus Lohrey (Siegen)
Damian Niwiński (Warsaw)
Jacques Sakarovitch (Paris)
Sylvain Schmitz (Paris)
Marinella Sciortino (Palermo)
Jeffrey Shallit (Waterloo)
Alexandra Silva (London)
Benjamin Steinberg (Ottawa)


Due to support by Université de Paris, this conference is planned to have only a modest fee, or to be even fee-free.

However, registration is mandatory for participation.
Please send your name, affiliation and intended length of stay to:
Thomas Colcombet: <colcombe at>

Deadline for registration: TBA


Thomas Colcombet: <colcombe at> or
Manfred Droste: <droste at> or
Jacques Sakarovitch: <sakarovitch at>

Further Information